You might think vegetarians are people who avoid all kinds of meat, fish, and poultry. In fact there are many types of vegetarians. The most famous of these are lacto-vegetarian, lacto-ovo vegetarian, and vegan. What are the differences between the three? See the full explanation in this article.
Types of vegetarians
Before you decide to become a vegetarian, here are the types of vegetarians that you have to follow:
Do you only eat vegetables, fruits, and seeds? You must be a vegan. This is a strict vegetarian type. Vegans avoid all animal products, including eggs, dairy products, and gelatin made from bones and animal connective tissue. Even honey for many vegans is in the "prohibited list" because it is a bee product, which means it is included in animal products.
People who are vegan avoid animal products not only in diet, but in every aspect of their lives. Vegan may avoid leather goods, wool and silk, fat soap, and other products made with animal ingredients.
Because of a strict diet, experts recommend that your daily meals should include:
- 6 servings of grains, most likely from bread and calcium-fortified cereals
- 5 servings of nuts, and types of protein, such as peanut butter, beans, tofu, potatoes and soy milk
- 4 servings of daily vegetables
- 2 servings of fruit
- 2 servings of healthy fat, such as sesame oil, avocado and coconut.
Do you avoid red meat, but still eat fish and poultry? You might belong to this group. A semi-vegetarian, also known as flexitarian, generally reduces eating mammal meat. You may only eat chicken or fish or even both.
If you are semi-vegetarian, you must make sure to consume enough nutrients, vitamins and minerals. It is also recommended to avoid high-fat, high-calorie foods.
3. Vegetarian lacto-ovo
Do you avoid all types of meat but still consume dairy products and eggs? You are most likely a vegetarian lacto-ovo. This type of vegetarian is the most common in Indonesia. People with this type of vegetarian do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, seafood, and all kinds of animals but they still eat eggs and dairy products.
If you don't eat meat products at all, experts warn that you should consume enough vitamin B12, vitamin D, riboflavin, iron, protein, and zinc to avoid nutritional deficiencies.
Do you avoid all meat and eggs but only consume dairy products? You are most likely lacto-vegetarian. This diet does not include red meat, white meat, fish, poultry and eggs. However, lacto-vegetarians consume dairy products such as cheese, milk and yogurt.
If you are lacto-vegetarian, experts recommend daily food. You must have:
- 2 to 3 teaspoons of oil
- 2 servings of nuts and seeds
- 3 servings of milk
- 2 to 4 servings of vegetables
- 2 to 3 servings of green leafy vegetables
- 2 to 3 servings of nuts and protein
- 1 to 2 servings of fruit
- 1 to 2 servings of dried fruit
- 6 to 10 servings of full grain.
You also need three servings of dairy products every day and cereal to add vitamin B12.
5. Other vegetarian types
There are 2 other types of vegetarians, namely:
- Ovo vegatarians. If you are vegetarian and eat eggs, then you are in an ovo vegetarian type. Yes, this type of vegetarian still eats eggs, but does not consume red meat, poultry, fish and dairy products at all.
- Pesco-vegetarian. Besides consuming plant products, pesco vegetarians also eat fish. Vegetarians of this type do not consume animal products other than fish. So, red meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products are foods that should be avoided if you become a vegetarian pesco.
So, what type of vegetarianism are you in?
- The 4 Most Frequently Asked Questions About Vegetarian
- 4 Benefits of Being Vegetarian (Plus Cheap Festive Vegetarian Recipes)
- The 10 Healthiest Meat Substitutes for Vegetarians